Northwest Review  12
          (For the week ending Saturday Oct. 31)

A new course record for Ella Donaghu at the 2015 OSAA XC Championships
Photo by: Klotz Images

Oregon State  (OSAA) Championships

Sat Oct 31, 2015 - Lane Community College CC Course, Eugene, OR
Ella Donaghu of Grant won her third straight State 6A  title and also overcame the upset bid of Jesuit freshman Ember Stratton.  Donaghu won on this version of the course in record time (recall runners used to run down & up out of the soccer field years ago.  Ella's time of 17:26 gave her a sixteen second margin over Sunset's precocious freshman.   It should be interesting in the next few years, because both the third & fourth place finishers (Elizabeth Rinck of Jesuit & Anna Chau of South Salem, who recorded times of 18:16 & 18:35) are also freshmen.  Audrey Huelskamp & Nicole Griffiths aided in the Sunset team triumph by placing fifth (16:29) & sixth (16:45)respectively.   Kate Intile of Tualatin placed seventh in 18:51 & Isabel Huelskamp of Sunset added an eighth place finish in 18:52.  The second place Crusaders of Jesuit had the ninth place contribution of Hallie Devore (18:55) & Melissa Berry of Sheldon came in tenth in 18:57 just nipping  Makenna Schumacher of Jesuit, who shared the time.
Olivia Brooks won her second straight title & led the Summit Strom to yet another dominating triumph.  Her time of 17:46 made her the definitive champion  and her team mates Hannah Tobiason & Taylor Vandenborn  added second & third in 18:23 &  18:25 to punctuate the Summit victory.  Crater's Jordan Monroe took fourth in 18:37 & Maddie Fuhrman of Silverton earned sixth in 18:54.  Celie Mans ran 18:45  to easily win  the 4 A crown  and led her Siuslaw squad  Marissa Dobry of St Mary's claimed the 3A crown with her time of 18:39.

Ahmed Muhumed of West Salem clocked 15:38 to earn a two second victory over Roman Ollar of West Linn.  Murimi Nyamu of Forest Grove crossed the line alone with his mark of 15:44 and was followed by a trio of runners, who crossed the line and were credited with a time of 15:50.  Luis Torres of Aloha got the nod for fourth just ahead of Jackson Mestler of Sheldon & Grayson Ollar of the West Linn Lions.  Joshua Schumacher of Jesuit garnered seventh with 15:55 & Alex Sinning of Wilson had an even sixteen minutes for eighth.  Michael McCausland of Central Catholic took ninth with 16:02 and had the consolation of leading the Rams to a team title.  The CC squad provided a fine demonstration with their top five all finishing within 34 seconds of each other.  Noah Belcik of Lakeridge garnered tenth with 16:03 & Michael Martin following a second later.  Noteworthy also was the sixteenth place finish of Zane Fodge of McMinnville, as he is just a freshman.


Walter Vail of Crater annexed the 5A crown by two seconds with his time of 15:39 but it was Alex Martin of Summit, whose second place effort that aided in the team title.  Summit edged Crater 32 to 36.  Third went to Andy Monroe of Crater in 15:42 and Caleb Hoffman of Bend took fourth with 15:52.  Crater's Derek Tripp placed fifth in 15:53 but Summit followed him with a sweep of the next four places led by Thomas Schoderbek 's 16:05.  Benjamin Wasserman, Scott Kinkaid & Jack Ballantyne followed in seventh through tenth.

Fabian Cardenas of Umatilla went out a winner & in so doing secured his second straight 3A crown with a fine mark of 15:50.  Hassan Ibrahim of Jefferson took second in 16:15.  Bradley Rzewnicki of Seaside won laurels in 4A with 16:13 to earn a five second victory over Tony Hooks of Sisters.


Idaho State Cross Country Championships
Sat. Oct 31, 2015 - Farragut State Park, Athol, ID   5K
It is a rare feat, when a freshman guy wins a State division in one of the top divisions but Caleb Armstrong not only accomplished that but his time of 16:057 was the fastest of the day.   He & hid Pocatello teammates also claimed the team title in 4A as well.  Josh Corgatelli of Moscow placed second in 16:13 & Nicholas Russell of Bishop Kelly took third in 16:21.  The team championship was all but wrapped up when Pocatello runners swept the next three places with Caden Armstrong leading the way in 26:31.  Malachi Armstrong (16:49) & Chresten Armstrong (16:51) were close behind. Jonathan Perry of Rigby finished second in  16:52.

Michael Slagowski of Rocky Mountain secured the 5A title by one second over Austin Byrer of Lewiston with his mark of 16:17.  Coen Haroldsen of Bonneville placed third in 26:23 with Coen Haroldsen of RM earning fourth but sharing the time.  Siyad Matan, a Borah sophomore, finished fifth in 16:26 just nipping Noah Horsburgh of Mountain View, whose team won the 5A title.  Jacob Davis of Capital garnered seventh as he nipped Evan Thieme of RM, who shared 16:28.\ Austin Stewart of Shelley secured the 3A title handily by running 16:05.9.  Jace Hymas of Sugar-Salem was second with 16:46.  The 2A laurels went to Joshua Balls of Soda Springs, who just edged Jackson Pratt of Bear Lake, who essentially shared the time.

Rachel Morrin of Madison captured the 5A girls' crown with 18:27 & Eve Jensen, a freshman from Boise, finished second in 18:41.  Eagle won the team crown as Mckenna Emerson (18:47)& Dania Holmberg took third & fourth a second apart.  Ashlyn Dyer of Idaho Falls followed in fifth with 18:57.    Katherine Ruck of Moscow won her second straight 4A title with ease, when she  came home in 18:26.  Michelle Pratt of Blackfoot took second in 18:52.  Century won the team title by edging Sandpoint 59 to 62.  LeAnn Larkin of Shelley clocked 19:16 to top 3A &  was the best of 2A with 20:26.   1A laurels went to Sage Way of Cascade in 21:09.