Photo by Klotz Images

Top Oregon pro and amateur athletes, teams, coaches, and administrators were honored at the 65th Annual Oregon Sports Awards hosted by Nike on Sunday night, a celebration that included a special viewing of the '77 Portland Trailblazers trophy and historic footage of their Game 6 win against Philadelphia 76ers. ESPN SportsCenter anchor and University of Oregon alum Neil Everett hosted the event at the Stanford Theater in the Tiger Woods Center at Nike World Headquarters.

A statewide voting panel consisting of TV, radio, and print personalities, in addition to respected sports professionals, cast their votes for the Oregon Sports Awards winners for 2016-2017 academic year.

Award Winners in Track and Cross Country Included:


Prep Cross Country Runners of the Year

Male - Winner: Ahmed Muhumed, West Salem

Finalists: Andrew Monroe, Crater; Joshua Schumacher, Jesuit

Female - Winner: Ember Stratton, Sunset

Finalists: Kelly Makin, Sunset; Olivia Brooks, Summit

Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year (6A-5A-FEMALE):
Brooks from Summit H.S. -Cross Country and Track & Field

Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year (4A-1A MALE):
Hunter Knox
from Harrisburg H.S. -Football, Basketball, and Track & Field

Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year (4A-1A FEMALE):
Baylee Touey,
North Valley H.S. -Soccer, Basketball, and Track & Field

Bill Hayward Award -Amateur Athlete of the Year (MALE):
Edward Cheserek,
University of Oregon (Cross Country and Track & Field)

Harry Glickman Award- Professional Athlete of the Year (MALE):
Ryan Crouser and Ashton Eaton




For a complete list of Oregon Sports Awards winners, including those from the prep ranks, go online to: