Photo by: Chitose Suzuki

Gatorade announced that Erin Dietz of Bedford High School is the 2014-15 Gatorade Massachusetts Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year.  Dietz is the first Gatorade Massachusetts Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year to be chosen from Bedford High School.

    The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the racecourse, distinguishes Dietz as Massachusetts’s best high school girls cross country runner.  Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year award to be announced in January, Dietz joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Ryan Hall (1999-00, 2000-01, Big Bear HS, Calif.), Derek Jeter (1991-92, Kalamazoo HS, Mich.), Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Abby Wambach (1997-98, Our Lady of Mercy, N.Y.) and Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.).

    The 5-foot-2 senior raced to a Division 1 individual state championship this past season with a time of 18:19. A Boston Herald All-Scholastic, Dietz earned fifth place at the Foot Locker Northeast Regional championships, crossing the line in 17:54.4. She qualified for the national Foot Locker Cross Country Championships and finished 37th in 19:38.

    Dietz has maintained a 96.9 average in the classroom. A member of the National Honor Society and her school’s American Red Cross club, she has served as employee at Springs Brook Park in association with her town’s recreation department.

    “Erin Dietz is the most accomplished runner our school has ever produced,” said Bedford High head coach Joel Hebert. “No one works harder at practice and no one spends more time preparing for a race. Her dedication is legendary.”

    Dietz will attend Harvard University this fall, where she will compete in cross country and track and field.

    Dietz joins Gatorade Massachusetts Girls Cross Country Runners of the Year Anoush Shehadeh (2013-14, Phillips Academy), Catarina Rocha (2012-13 & 2011-12, Peabody High School), Ariel Beauregard-Breton (2010-11, Deerfield Academy), Andrea Keklak (2009-10, Lincoln-Sudbury Regional), and Emily Jones (2008-09 & 2007-08, The Bromfield School), as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007.