Clinton High can again be proud of very speedy athletes in the just-completed school year.

Back-to-back state championships do not happen very often in Class 6A of the Mississippi High School Activities Association, in any sport.

Even so, the Clinton High Lady Arrow Track team claimed the track and field title this spring for the second year running. The only other Clinton High sport to achieve back-to-back titles in recent years has been boys soccer.

The Lady Arrow track team was led by freshman Demi Washington. She was named Miss Track for the second year in a row by The Clarion Ledger.

Washington was all about speed for the second year in a row. She was a winner in both sprints in Class 6A completion, taking the 100-meter dash in 11.81 seconds and the 200-meter dash in 24.06 seconds.

Also winning state championship events were Monica Mosely, in the 300- meter hurdles with a time of 44.1 seconds, and Harper Newell, in the 100-meter hurdles with a time of 14.52 seconds.

The Lady Arrow relay team captured the 4 X100 meter relay and the 4X 200 meter relay. The team of Harper Newell, Justice Sims, Monica Mosely, and Demi Washington timed 46.14 seconds on the 4X100 and 1.37.58 on the 4X200.

Jasmine Johnson won the Class 6A pole vault event with a vault of 11 feet, 4 inches.

Runner up individual state champions were Justice Sims, 100-meter and 200-meter dash, and Harper Newell, runner up in the 300-meter hurdles event.

The Lady Arrows not only won the state championship, but also entered the national rankings. The relay team of Mosley, Sims, Newell and Washington finished the season ranked sixth nationally in the both the 4X 100 meter and the 4 x 200 meter.

Demi Washington finished the season ranked # 31 nationally in the 100- meter dash and # 18 nationally in the 200-meter dash.

As a team, the Lady Arrows finished # 83 in the nation. The Lady Arrows also won the district championship for the fifth straight year.

The 2014 season was also stellar for the Arrow boys track team. The relay team of Romell Horton, Craig Thomas, Darius Maberry and John Thurman captured the 4X100 meter state championship with a time of 42.48 seconds.